RaspbmcCrystalbuntu

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
06-22-2012, 07:09 AM
Post: #1
RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
Hey,

Sorry, but I have no idea where to get logs from, so the messages are going to be approx the same as I see on te screen. This SD card worked fine with RC2.

Installs "fine", and reboots itself.

Initialising local filesystem: Failed.

Stays on RASPBMC logo for ages.

Sometimes is says about XBMC failing to spawn, and cec respawning too fast.
I cant SSH into it, and it doesnt even respond to pings.

I'm sure I'm missing something simple, but I cant figure it out.
Thanks,
steaky
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-22-2012, 11:11 AM
Post: #2
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
I get the same too - I've formatted the card in Linux and Windows multiple times etc.

I'll be trying another SD card soon.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-22-2012, 12:47 PM
Post: #3
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
have you guys tried differant power supplies? I'd say it's the most common problem, even before SD cards...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 07:22 AM
Post: #4
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
Same problem here.

Have tried 700mA and 1A supplies, but problem persists.

(there's a similar thread called 'Mounting local filesystem = failed'. I'll post here if the answer is found in that thread)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 08:57 AM
Post: #5
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
(06-27-2012 07:22 AM)GlobalMonkey Wrote:  Same problem here.

Have tried 700mA and 1A supplies, but problem persists.

(there's a similar thread called 'Mounting local filesystem = failed'. I'll post here if the answer is found in that thread)

+1 - Same issue here too.
There's a couple of threads now, I think RC3 has a build issue.
I get the Mounting local filesystem failed message, however the system is responsive to SIG-15 (Ctrl-Alt-Del). But reboot shows same problem. I cant see this being anything related to hardware (power or SD cards - as others had same hardware working fine with RC2).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 09:11 AM (This post was last modified: 06-27-2012 09:12 AM by s7mx1.)
Post: #6
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
The raspbmc installation procedure is as of follows:
1) image sd card
2) first boot will install OS only when os installation is finished it will reboot
3) 2nd boot up will install kernel, system libs and probably service scripts
4) 3rd boot will install xbmc

Looks like you guys stuck at 3) and its not installing any new kernel services scripts and xbmc. It could be because of download server is having some issues. Please try re-image your card and do it again. If that fails I would suggest try the pre-build image here:

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=730
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 06:00 PM
Post: #7
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
(06-27-2012 09:11 AM)s7mx1 Wrote:  The raspbmc installation procedure is as of follows:
1) image sd card
2) first boot will install OS only when os installation is finished it will reboot
3) 2nd boot up will install kernel, system libs and probably service scripts
4) 3rd boot will install xbmc

Looks like you guys stuck at 3) and its not installing any new kernel services scripts and xbmc. It could be because of download server is having some issues. Please try re-image your card and do it again. If that fails I would suggest try the pre-build image here:

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=730

The reason its sticking at 3) is because it downloads files from raspbmc.com not http://www.raspbmc.com

The issue is still DNS issues, sam can not update raspbmc.com but he can update http://www.raspbmc.com as for some reason 1and1 have broke the domain.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 06:13 PM
Post: #8
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
None of the update scripts use the raspbmc.com and only the windows installer use it. More like a mirror issue to me rather than DNS.

(06-27-2012 06:00 PM)NodeDeploy Wrote:  
(06-27-2012 09:11 AM)s7mx1 Wrote:  The raspbmc installation procedure is as of follows:
1) image sd card
2) first boot will install OS only when os installation is finished it will reboot
3) 2nd boot up will install kernel, system libs and probably service scripts
4) 3rd boot will install xbmc

Looks like you guys stuck at 3) and its not installing any new kernel services scripts and xbmc. It could be because of download server is having some issues. Please try re-image your card and do it again. If that fails I would suggest try the pre-build image here:

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=730

The reason its sticking at 3) is because it downloads files from raspbmc.com not http://www.raspbmc.com

The issue is still DNS issues, sam can not update raspbmc.com but he can update http://www.raspbmc.com as for some reason 1and1 have broke the domain.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 07:13 PM
Post: #9
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
(06-27-2012 06:13 PM)s7mx1 Wrote:  None of the update scripts use the raspbmc.com and only the windows installer use it. More like a mirror issue to me rather than DNS.

(06-27-2012 06:00 PM)NodeDeploy Wrote:  
(06-27-2012 09:11 AM)s7mx1 Wrote:  The raspbmc installation procedure is as of follows:
1) image sd card
2) first boot will install OS only when os installation is finished it will reboot
3) 2nd boot up will install kernel, system libs and probably service scripts
4) 3rd boot will install xbmc

Looks like you guys stuck at 3) and its not installing any new kernel services scripts and xbmc. It could be because of download server is having some issues. Please try re-image your card and do it again. If that fails I would suggest try the pre-build image here:

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=730

The reason its sticking at 3) is because it downloads files from raspbmc.com not http://www.raspbmc.com

The issue is still DNS issues, sam can not update raspbmc.com but he can update http://www.raspbmc.com as for some reason 1and1 have broke the domain.

Oh, sorry, i see the issue, stmlabs.com is not loading, I will have to wait till sam gets back as I do not currently have access to the dedi to take a look into it, it appears the dns is resolving to my server ok, but my server is not retrieving the pages from the site properly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2012, 11:54 PM
Post: #10
RE: RC3 hangs on raspBMC logo
balls... Sad was looking forward to installing on my new card, installation went super fast untill this point.

ah well will perservere for now teh existing build I have is ok
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Sponsored Advertisement