RaspbmcCrystalbuntu

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Raspbmc and 3D
10-17-2012, 04:09 AM
Post: #1
Video Raspbmc and 3D
I have a question about 3D playback.
Is 3D iso or 3d mkv using mvc codec playback supported on Raspberry Pi? Basically I am looking for frame packed 3d playback. Are there any limitations or playback issues? I have searched but haven't found any concrete answer. So thought of asking here.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2012, 08:38 AM (This post was last modified: 10-17-2012 08:49 AM by russcasey.)
Post: #2
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
I'd expect that you'd be ok with Side-by-side encoding - as that plays like normal video at normal frame rates, but has the disadvantage that the horizontal resolution is halved.

Sequential encoding (alternate full frames for left and right eye) would need 50fps which is a bit ambitious. Perhaps a clever clustered arrangement with one pi for each eye could do it in theory Smile

I have the tech to try it but no 3D blu rays yet. - if you can point me at some sample files I'll give it a go.


*edit*
Having just done a quick search on xbmc.org, it seems there was a patch to Frodo in August to support 3D in SBS mode. The extra code was about making subtitles and the gui render properly, which I guess makes sense.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2012, 08:48 AM
Post: #3
Re: Raspbmc and 3D
3d sbs works really well if you get a good source file. I watched how to train your dragon 3d on icefilms perfect good depth
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2012, 10:11 AM
Post: #4
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
I've watched Men in black 3 in 3d, a downloaded mkv, side by side (half) no problem. Pi/Raspbmc played it fine, 2x squeezed images appeared, tele spotted 3d and all was fine.

tried a FULL resolution 3d, (2x 1920 pictures side by side), RASpbmc goes black and freezes, not sure if tele can cope either.

managed to play it from laptop using a program called Bino, which can simply convert a 3d input to any of the 3d variant outputs, Half SBS worked for my TV.

There is a Bino plugin for XBMC, have installed (from zip file here ) but haven't tested it yet.

hth,

neil
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2012, 10:52 AM
Post: #5
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
Make sure you name your 3D SBS files with "3DSBS" in the name. E.g.
Avatar.3DSBS.mkv
Then XBMC will set the TV into a 3D mode and render the GUI in an SBS way.

You can also force a 3D mode in video settings. Set the resolution to a half width one (e.g. 960x1080) and that will trigger 3D mode and SBS GUI.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2012, 03:33 AM
Post: #6
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
Thanks a lot, gurus.

Did some more reading on the topic. XBMC itself do not have a solution yet for frame packed 3D. So, I guess SBS 3d is the option at the moment. I don't have my BD collection ripped yet. I still have to determine which format to rip it to. 3D iso looks the easiest but I will run into playback issues later.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-27-2012, 06:37 PM
Post: #7
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
(10-17-2012 10:52 AM)popcornmix Wrote:  Make sure you name your 3D SBS files with "3DSBS" in the name. E.g.
Avatar.3DSBS.mkv
Then XBMC will set the TV into a 3D mode and render the GUI in an SBS way.

You can also force a 3D mode in video settings. Set the resolution to a half width one (e.g. 960x1080) and that will trigger 3D mode and SBS GUI.

Just tried this suggestion, but I can't get Raspbmc to trigger my TV's 3D function.

I have a Toshiba 3D TV and I have 3d set to Auto. I renamed my folder to Avatar.3DSBS and my file to Avatar.3DSBS.mkv.

Any other suggestions?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-28-2012, 05:15 PM
Post: #8
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
You need at least a HDMI 1.3 cable for 3d. Odds are you probably already have it since 1.3 is the most common, but it still something you might wanna check.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-28-2012, 06:57 PM
Post: #9
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
(11-27-2012 06:37 PM)jservs7 Wrote:  Just tried this suggestion, but I can't get Raspbmc to trigger my TV's 3D function.

I have a Toshiba 3D TV and I have 3d set to Auto. I renamed my folder to Avatar.3DSBS and my file to Avatar.3DSBS.mkv.

What does:
Code:
tvservice -m CEA_3D
Return?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-28-2012, 08:05 PM
Post: #10
RE: Raspbmc and 3D
(11-27-2012 06:37 PM)jservs7 Wrote:  Just tried this suggestion, but I can't get Raspbmc to trigger my TV's 3D function.
Also tried the above suggestions for a Samsung SmartTV UE40D7000 and the TV 3D function only works if I push the corresponding button in the TV remote control.

(11-28-2012 06:57 PM)popcornmix Wrote:  What does:
Code:
tvservice -m CEA_3D
Return?

In my case:
Code:
Group CEA_3D has 9 modes:
           mode 4: 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 5: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, interlaced
  (native) mode 16: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 19: 1280x720 @ 50Hz, progressive
           mode 20: 1920x1080 @ 50Hz, interlaced
           mode 31: 1920x1080 @ 50Hz, progressive
           mode 32: 1920x1080 @ 24Hz, progressive
           mode 33: 1920x1080 @ 25Hz, progressive
           mode 34: 1920x1080 @ 30Hz, progressive

Besides this, the subtitles are not shown currently in 3D mode (only half shows up) and the playback is not smooth (but that is probably RPi's fault, no?)...

Can I provide any more info to try to fix this?

Raspberry Pi 256MB
Sandisk 8gb Ultra SD Card (SDHC) - Class 10 - 30MB/S
Power Supply RS HNP06 1.2A
Raspbmc RC5, Built: 20121121
XBMC 12.0-BETA1 Git:Unknown (Compiled: Nov 21,2012)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Sponsored Advertisement