RaspbmcCrystalbuntu

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
09-05-2012, 01:50 AM
Post: #1
Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
Remote: Logitech Harmony 670
Receiver: Dell OVU412002/00 (RC6 compatible)
Raspbmc Version: RC4

I'm relatively new to linux and setting up Raspbmc has been driving me up the wall for about a week now. I tried to adapt the Official Harmony How-To guide for windows on XBMC forums (here) to Raspbmc. Basically the guide just has you add 2 device profiles, the MCE Keyboard for single keypresses and a special remote (Windows MCE SE) for key combinations. and make a couple keymap entries in keyboard.xml, nothing platform specific.

I'm trying get the MCE Keyboard profile to work with my harmony, but XBMC responds twice to each keypress I make (unless I tap the remote button extremely fast). Button response is perfect (more or less) using the remote based profile (Windows MCE SE).

Things I've tried so far:
  • Setting the repeat delay to 0 on the activity settings page in the harmony software (not enough effect, made remote profile response slower).
  • Setting insanely high interkey delays in the harmony software (no effect).
  • Adding a delay to /home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/advancedsettings.xml (no effect, made remote profile response slower).
Notes:
  • XBMC responds to the remote (using the keyboard profile) whether I have 'remote sends keypresses' checked or not.
  • IRW shows nothing when pressing keys as a MCE Keyboard but everything shows up fine using the MCE Remote profile.
  • Running ir-keytable -t and pressing buttons on the remote produces no output using either profile.

Running the command ir-keytable produces the following output:
Quote:Found /sys/class/rc/rc1/ (/dev/input/event0) with:
Driver mceusb, table rc-rc6-mce
Supported protocols: NEC RC-5 RC-6 JVC SONY other
Enabled protocols: RC-6
Repeat delay = 500 ms, repeat period = 125 ms
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2012, 01:59 AM
Post: #2
RE: Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
I seem to remember something about this but can't remember what. I think it involved setting up the Harmony as a MCE remote and not keyboard. Try searching

Pi problems?? Start here http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=3918
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting
http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2012, 03:22 AM
Post: #3
RE: Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
i have a similar problem using the (genuine) MCE Remote and the Logitech DiNovo Mini.

For example, i press the down arrow and the selection moves down 2 spaces instead of 1. however, it is intermittant (ie, mostly doesn't happen. maybe 1 in 10 keypresses)

very new to Raspbmc, got my Rasp Pi delivered yesterday.

using the latest version of Raspbmc using the normal downloader (no nightly builds).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2012, 04:22 AM
Post: #4
RE: Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
Try this http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?...7#pid14947

Pi problems?? Start here http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=3918
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting
http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2012, 08:19 AM
Post: #5
RE: Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
(09-05-2012 01:59 AM)Dilligaf Wrote:  I seem to remember something about this but can't remember what. I think it involved setting up the Harmony as a MCE remote and not keyboard. Try searching

Yeah.

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?...0#pid17670

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?...1#pid17881
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2012, 08:53 PM
Post: #6
RE: Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
Start the Logitech configuration tool and press "Troubleshoot" for your activity. In there you have an option about repeated keys, it's fixed there by adjusting a value - just reduce it with a unit or two until the repeat phenomenon disappeared.

It worked for me (Logitech Harmony One, with MCE Keyboard SE)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2012, 10:19 PM
Post: #7
RE: Logitech Harmony - multiple Keypresses when configured as MCE Keyboard
I can confirm proteus' fix to be working. I too had the problem of having every button push repeated, and it is now fixed by dropping the key repeat value to 0 through the Logitech software.
Using raspbmc RC4, HP IR RC7 receiver and a Logitech Harmony One.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Sponsored Advertisement